• Malta updates its list of Countries whose citizens are not eligible to apply for the Individual Investor Programme?

  • October 2018

    • The Maltese Individual Investor Programme that incentivises High Net-worth foreigners to obtain Maltese citizenship is available to a very wide spectrum of persons.

      However, in view of international sanctions and other security related restrictions, this Programme has some restrictions.

      Primarily the restriction is applicable to nationals of: 

      • The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan,
      • The Islamic Republic of Iran and
      • The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea).

      Furthermore, those individuals who are non-nationals but reside, do business, have significant ties with, or connections to the above mentioned countries, are also excluded from the programme.

  • Another restriction is applicable to citizens from countries included on the US Travel Ban. These nationals cannot apply for this Citizenship Programme either. The full list is presented below:

    • Afghanistan
    • Chad
    • Iran
    • Libya
    • North Korea
    • Somalia
    • Syria
    • Venezuela
    • Yemen

    MIIPA reserves the right to update the list of banned countries from time to time.

    Source: Identity Malta

  • For further enquiries on this subject do not  hesitate to contact us

    This information has been provided merely for information purposes and does not constitute legal or specialist advice. Should more information be sought it is recommended to contact Valletta Legal.

    20/1, Republic Street,
    Valletta, VLT 1111,

    T: +356 2122 8340
     +356 2122 8360